CAPC
musée d'art contemporain
de Bordeaux

Richard Long

White Rock Line, 1990

----

 

----

limestone ; 20 x 150 x 4000 cm
terrace, second floor

This line of stone made on the spot was commissioned from the sculptor to mark the museum’s latest renovations in 1990. It is an 18 ton sculpture made of rag-stones (moellons), arranged on the floor in a predetermined rectangle. The pale limestone comes from the Bourg-en-Gironde quarries. It is the same stone as used for the construction of the Entrepôt and this reference to the site is intentional.

“I chose the line and the circle because they do the trick”, says the artist. This “mineral path” has great geometric rigour despite the hazardous chaos in the way the materials are piled up. It is an invitation to walk along the whole length of the work, based on a precept of Minimalist sculpture. For Long, too, walking invites reflection: “Walking is drawing time passing.”

Richard Long was born in 1945 in Bristol (UK). He lives and works in Bristol.
He made his very first outdoor works in 1964. His ideas are always executed in relation to a site. Apart from writings and photographs, the works he presents and produces in museums, galleries and collections are made with materials taken from nature.

The CAPC owns nine works by Richard Long: a circle and two stone lines, a “field” of stone of variable shape, three mural mud circles (two of which are in the restaurant) and a photographic diptych.

www.rosab.net
Web Magazine Online

> la collection en ligne <

CAPC
musée d'art contemporain
de Bordeaux

Richard Long

White Rock Line, 1990

----

White Rock Line, 1990. (Ligne de pierres blanches, 1990)
pierre calcaire
20 x 150 x 4000 cm

Terrasse, second étage

----
Cette ligne de pierres réalisée sur place a été commandée au sculpteur à l’occasion de la dernière réhabilitation du musée en 1990. C’est une sculpture de 18 tonnes composée de moellons, disposés au sol selon un rectangle prédéterminé. La pierre calcaire claire provient des carrières de Bourg-sur-Gironde. C’est la même pierre que celle utilisée pour la construction de l'Entrepôt et cette citation du site est délibérée.

« Je choisis la ligne et le cercle parce qu’ils font l’affaire », dit l’artiste. Ce "chemin minéral" est d'une grande rigueur géométrique malgré le chaos hasardeux de l’entassement des matériaux.C’est une invite à parcourir l’œuvre dans sa longueur, selon un précepte de la sculpture minimaliste. Pour Long aussi, la marche invite à la réflexion : « Marcher, c'est comme dessiner le temps qui passe ».

Richard Long est né en 1945 à Bristol (Royaume Uni). Il y vit et travaille à Bristol. Il a réalisé ses toutes premières oeuvres en extérieur en 1964. Ses propositions sont toujours réalisées en référence à un site. A l’exception des écrits et des photographies, les oeuvres qu’il présente ou réalise dans les musées, galeries, collections, sont faites de matériaux prélevés dans la nature.

Le CAPC possède neuf œuvres de Richard Long : un cercle et deux lignes de pierre, un « champ » de pierre de forme variable, trois cercles de boue muraux (dont deux dans le restaurant) et un diptyque photographique.

www.rosab.net
Web magazine en ligne

> la collection en ligne <