CAPC
musée d'art contemporain
de Bordeaux

Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa

----

For the third year of Ticket Mécène®, the CAPC Musée has chosen an artwork made by Naufus Ramírez Figueroa, In Plain View.

----

 

Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa
In Plain View,
2014
Expanded polystyrene, resin and pigments
182 x 56 x 42 cm

 

The Artwork

The sculpture In Plain View is a work from the installation No sé como decir no sé (I don’t know how to say I don’t know). It represents a character tempting to hide in a hollow tree trunk. The character is betrayed by the appendix which looms from the other side of the trunk. This long and thin appendix refers to Pinocchio’s nose as well as a clown’s prosthesis.

This work conveys the violence used in 1977 by Rubén Morales when he staged the play by Hugo Carillo — the Guatemalan playwright : El corazón del espantapájaros (The fan heart, 1975). Fine arts students were disguised as clowns, played policemen, soldiers and politicians roles. Because of this proposal, Morales and his company were threatened with death. It led to the interruption of the performances and indirectly to a self-censorship of the theatrical community. Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa underlines the ambiguity of this situation : the actors and the director were revolutionaries, but the public was yet composed of bourgeois who were supporting creation. They had the power to silence the opposing voices. Hence, the company's play and its power of protestation were reduced.

 

Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa (Guatemala, 1978) first studied art in Canada, at the Emily Carr University of Vancouver. He studied at the Art Institute of Chicago then. He finished his studies as a post-graduate student at the Jan Van Eyck Academy in Maastricht, Netherlands.
The Guatemalan civil war (1960-1996) is a recurrent subject in his work. He lightens it through an absurd and humorous approach. He tackles, on the one hand, corruption and authoritarianism used by Latin-American executives, and on the other hand the police violence which derives from it. His work draws his strength from history — understood like the Mesoamerican culture tradition as well as the Hispano-American literature.

 

 

- - - -
Ticket Mécène® is a registered trademark with the INPI.
This operation is realised with the support of the friends of the CAPC and the Galerie Sultana, Paris.
Each euro you give is completed by 50 centimes given by the friends of the CAPC. 

www.rosab.net
Web Magazine Online

> la collection en ligne <

CAPC
musée d'art contemporain
de Bordeaux

Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa

----

Le CAPC musée a choisi pour cette troisième campagne Ticket Mécène, l'œuvre de l'artiste Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa, In Plain View (A la vue de tous).

----

 

Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa
In Plain View,
2014
Polystyrène expansé, résine et pigments
182 x 56 x 42 cm

 

L'oeuvre

La sculpture In Plain View (A la vue de tous) est une œuvre issue de l’installation No sé como decir no sé (Je ne sais pas comment dire je ne sais pas). Elle représente un personnage tentant, vraisemblablement, de se cacher dans un tronc d'arbre creux, mais qui est trahi par l'appendice qui surgit de l'autre côté de du tronc, appendice long et mince qui renvoie autant au nez de Pinocchio qu'à une prothèse de clown.

Cette œuvre évoque la violence exercée sur la mise en scène, proposée en 1977 par Rubén Morales, de la pièce de théâtre du dramaturge guatémaltèque Hugo Carrillo, El corazón del espantapájaros (Le cœur de l'épouvantail, 1975), dans laquelle on voyait des étudiants des beaux-arts costumés en clowns, jouer le rôle de policiers, de soldats et de responsables politiques. Cette proposition déclencha des menaces de mort sur Morales et son équipe, amenant à une interruption des représentations et indirectement à une autocensure de la part des milieux du théâtre. Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa souligne l’ambigüité de cette situation : les acteurs et le metteur en scène ayant des aspirations révolutionnaires, le public était néanmoins composé de bourgeois soutenant la création, et détenant le pouvoir de faire taire les voix dissidentes. Ainsi, l’impact de leur jeu, et leur protestation étaient limités.

 

Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa (Guatemala, 1978) a étudié l'art d'abord au Canada, à la Emily Carr University de Vancouver, puis aux Etats-Unis, au Art Institute de Chicago, formation complétée par un post grade en recherche à la Jan Van Eyck Academie de Maastricht aux Pays-Bas. 
La guerre civile au Guatemala (1960-1996) est un sujet récurrent dans son travail, adouci par une approche absurde et humoristique. Il aborde aussi la corruption et l’autoritarisme de certains dirigeants d’Amérique latine et la violence policière qui en découle. Son travail puise aussi sa force dans l’histoire, tant à travers les traditions de l'ancienne Mésoamérique que la littérature hispano-américaine.

 

 

- - - -
Ticket Mécène ® est un projet déposé à l’INPI.
Cette opération est réalisée avec le soutien des Amis du CAPC et de la galerie Sultana, Paris.
Chaque euro de votre participation est abondé de 50 centimes d’euros par Les Amis du CAPC. 

www.rosab.net
Web magazine en ligne

> la collection en ligne <